Today: McKeldin Open 24 Hours
Campus ID Required 11pm-8am

Aeolus Quartet: Berg and Schubert

Sunday, September 16, 2012 2:00 pm - Gildenhorn Recital Hall

Praised by Strad Magazine for their "high-octane" performance, the Aeolus Quartet is among the finest young string quartets performing today. The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center welcomes the Aeolus Quartet for their first performance of this year, featuring Berg's String Quartet, Op. 3 and Schubert's String Quartet in G Major, D. 887.The Aeolus Quartet with their instruments

The Aeolus Quartet is Grand Prize winner of the 2011 Plowman Chamber Music Competition and 2011 Yellow Springs Chamber Music Competition, and was awarded First Prize for Strings at the 2009 Coleman International Chamber Music Competition. Aeolus is currently the Graduate Fellowship String Quartet at the University of Maryland.

Learn more about the composers and pieces featured on this program in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Alban Berg - String Quartet, Op. 3

  • Recordings
  • Books - learn more about Berg and his music through musical analyses and biographies.
  • Scores
Franz Schubert - String Quartet in G Major, D. 887
  • Recordings
  • Books - including several musical analyses and writings on the life and works of Franz Schubert.
  • Scores
Streaming Audio: Listen to the works featured on this program through playlists powered by Classical Music Library and Naxos Music Library.