Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts CLOSED

Orpheus and Maryland - Saturday, March 31st, 2012

UMD School of Music presents

Orpheus and Maryland

featuring Members of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra with UMD Faculty Artists

Saturday, March 31, 2012 8:00 pm - Gildenhorn Recital Hall

Members of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra continue their residency with the School of Music by joining UMD faculty artists for an evening of chamber music entitled Orpheus and Maryland. Explore the artists and pieces featured on this program in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

   Recordings featuring the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra: discover over twenty recordings by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra and guest artists in performances of music by Handel, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Copland, and more

  Books: As one of the world’s premier chamber ensembles, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra operates according to an unusual model, an inventive structure based on shared leadership: the orchestra rehearses, performs, and records without a conductor. Harvey Seifter, executive director of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, along with author Peter Economy, refines the core principles behind this innovative style of management and explores the ways this ideology may be used effectively in the business world in Leadership Ensemble: Lessons in Collaborative Management from the World’s Only Conductorless Orchestra. Also, don't miss "The Invisible Leader: Lessons for Leaders from the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra", an essay in John Luban's "Leading From the Middle," and Other Contrarian Essays on Library Leadership!


Felix Mendelssohn - Octet in E-flat major, op. 20    Recordings    Books    Scores

Charles-François Gounod - Petite symphonie    Recordings    Scores

Bohuslav Martinů - Nonet As a Czech expatriate living in Paris and then the United States, Bohuslav Martinů absorbed many of the musical trends and styles of his adopted lands. His unique union of Czech musical traditions and European trends is codified in Nonetto (1959). Martinů’s Nonetto is dedicated to the Czech Nonet, an ensemble comprised of nine players from the Czech Philharmonic; this same group premiered the work at the Salzburg Festival the year of its composition. The melodies and rhythms native to Czech and Moravian dances pervade this work of great beauty and sophistication.    Recordings    Scores