Today: McKeldin Open 24 hours - Campus ID required 11:00PM-8:00AM

Library Liaisons and Departmental Faculty Representatives

Departmental Faculty Representatives & Library Liaisons

At the University of Maryland Libraries, our mission is to meet the academic, research, and information needs of the campus community in both traditional and innovative ways.


Departmental Faculty Representatives (Faculty Library Liaisons)


The work of the departmental faculty representatives is vital to the success of the University of Maryland Libraries in supporting University's goals for learning, discovery, engagement, and professional practice.

  • Each academic department/program at UMD assigns a faculty member to serve as faculty library liaison for that department.
  • The departmental faculty representative may be the primary contact person for his or her department with the library, communicating directly with their liaison librarian. 
  • departmental faculty representatives communicate to their liaison librarian changes in curriculum, academic directions, and new programmatic needs, as well as new, evolving, or diminishing research focuses.
  • They encourage their colleagues to communicate with their subject librarian regarding individual information, purchase, instruction, or research needs and distribute communications from the liaison librarian and the Libraries that they receive.
  • Further, they may coordinate the participation of their department in special projects, such as:
    • Journal cancellation projects
    • Major purchase decisions
    • Major withdrawal/transfer projects of bound journal volumes or books. 
  • They can also be providing feedback from the faculty regarding:
    • Library services
    • Policies
    • Procedures
    • Collections

Subject Librarians (Library Liaisons)


In their outreach function, liaison librarians are a conduit between academic departments and the library to make sure that we are serving the unique research and information literacy needs of students and faculty in each discipline to the best of our ability.

  • Liaison librarians are assigned subjects based on their undergraduate and graduate degrees, academic interests, and the needs of the library.
  • Liaison librarians provide information literacy instruction, research assistance, and manage and build collections.
  • Through departmental partnerships, liaison librarians actively develop innovative services and materials that support the University's evolving academic programs and changing research interests.
  • Active communication between liaison librarians and their faculty library liaison include all matters related to the University Libraries, such as:
  • Acquisitions
  • Instructional support
  • Scholarly communications
  • Library digitization efforts
  • Developments in data research and visualization
  • Library events
  • Workshops
  • Library-wide services.
 

Below, our library liaisons and departmental faculty representatives are listed.


 

Department Departmental Liaisons to the Libraries Email Addresses Liaison Librarians Email Addresses
Accounting & Information Assurance Dr. Martin Loeb, Chair mloeb@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Aerospace Engineering Dr. Norman Wereley wereley@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
African-American Studies Marshal Washington lahsram9@umd.edu Tahirah Akbar-Williams takbarwi@umd.edu
Agricultural and Resource Economics Dr. Katherine Faulkner kstjohn@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
American Studies Dr. Mary Sies marycorbinsies@yahoo.com Eric Lindquist ericl@umd.edu
Animal and Avian Sciences Dr. Chad Stahl chstahl@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Anthropology Dr. Mark Leone mleone@umd.edu Jordan Sly jsly@umd.edu
Arabic Studies Dr. Valerie Anishchenkova vani@umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Architecture Dr. Brian Kelly bkelly@umd.edu Cindy Frank cfrank@umd.edu
Art Prof. Chip Richardson, Chair wcr@umd.edu Patricia Cossard pcossard@umd.edu
Art History & Archaeology Dr. Meredith Gill, Chair mgill@umd.edu Patricia Cossard pcossard@umd.edu
Asian and East European Languages and Cultures Dr. Michele Mason mmmason@umd.edu Kana Jenkins jenkins1@umd.edu
Astronomy Ms. Olivia Dent odent@umd.edu Nevenka Zdravkovska nevenka@umd.edu
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences Dr. Norman Canfield NLC131@aol.com Nevenka Zdravkovska nevenka@umd.edu
Behavioral and Community Health Dr. Barbara Anne Curbow, Chair bcurbow@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Bioengineering Dr. John Fisher jpfisher@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
Biology Dr. Colenso Speer cspeer@umd.edu Jodi Coalter jcoalter@umd.edu
Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics (CBMG) Dr. Steven Mount dinman@umd.edu Svetla Baykoucheva / Jodi Coalter sbaykouc@umd.edu/jcoalter@umd.edu
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Dr. Peter Konfinas konfinas@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry Dr. Andrei Vedernikov avederni@umd.edu Svetla Baykoucheva sbaykouc@umd.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering Dr. Charles (Chuck) Schwartz schwartz@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
Classics Dr. Lillian Doherty ldoherty@umd.edu Eric Lindquist ericl@umd.edu
Communication Dr. Dale Jay Hample dhample@umd.edu Chuck Howell chuckh@umd.edu
Computer Science Dr. David Mount mount@umd.edu Nevenka Zdravkovska nevenka@umd.edu
Counseling and Higher Education (Education) Dr. William Ming Liu willmliu@umd.edu Tahirah Akbar-Williams takbarwi@umd.edu
Criminology and Criminal Justice Dr. Gary LaFree glafree@umd.edu Celina McDonald cnichol5@umd.edu
Decision and Information Technologies Dr. Michael Fu, Chair mfu@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Economics Dr. Maureen Cropper, Chair cropper@econ.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Electrical & Computer Engineering Dr. Julius Goldhar jgoldhar@eng.umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
English Dr. Martha Nell Smith mnsmith@umd.edu Pat Herron herron@umd.edu
Entomology Dr. Marcia A. Shofner mshofner@umd.edu Jodi Coalter jcoalter@umd.edu
Environmental Science and Policy Dr. Mark Carroll mcarroll@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Environmental Science and Technology Dr. Ray Weil rweil@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Epidemiology & Biostatistics Dr. Tianzhou (Charles) Ma tma0929@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Family Science Dr. Manouchehr Mokhtari mokhtari@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Finance Dr. Nagpurnanand Prabhala, Chair nprabhala@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Fire Protection Engineering Dr. Arnaud Trouvé atrouve@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
French and Italian Dr. Valerie Orlando vorlando@umd.edu Kelsey Corlett-Rivera kcr1@umd.edu
Geographical Sciences Dr. Chris Justice, Chair cjustice@umd.edu Celina McDonald cnichol5@umd.edu
Geology Dr. Mong-Han Huang mhhuang@umd.edu Jodi Coalter jcoalter@umd.edu
Germanic Studies Dr. Julie Koser jkoser@umd.edu Kelsey Corlett-Rivera kcr1@umd.edu
The Global Health Initiative Dr. Colleen M. Farmer cfarmer@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Government and Politics Dr. David Karol dkarol@umd.edu Judy Markowitz judym@umd.edu
Health Services Administration Dr. Michel Boudreaux mhb@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Hearing and Speech Dr. Nan Bernstein Ratner nratner@hesp.umd.edu Chuck Howell chuckh@umd.edu
Historic Preservation Dennis Pogue dpogue@umd.edu Cindy Frank cfrank@umd.edu
History Dr. Robyn Muncy rmuncy@umd.edu Eric Lindquist ericl@umd.edu
Human Development and Quantitative Methodology (Education) Dr Ming Wang minwang@umd.edu Tahirah Akbar-Williams takbarwi@umd.edu
Information Studies Dr. Paul Jaeger pjaeger@umd.edu Rachel Gammons rgammons@umd.edu
Institute of Applied Agriculture Dr. Chelsea Mays-Williams cmayswil@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Jewish Studies Dr. Berny Cooperman cooperma@umd.edu Yelena Luckert yluckert@umd.edu
Journalism Dr. Ronald A. Yaros ryaros@umd.edu Chuck Howell chuckh@umd.edu
Kinesiology Dr. Joanne C. Klossner jklossne@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Linguistics Dr. Margaret J. Antonisse mja@umd.edu Pat Herron herron@umd.edu
LGBT Studies Dr. Ruth Zambrana and Mr. Robert Burgard rzambran@umd.edurburgard@umd.edu" Judy Markowitz judym@umd.edu
Logistics, Business and Public Policy (includes Supply Chain Management) Dr. Martin Dresner, Chair mdresner@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Management & Organization Dr. Kay Bartol, Chair kbartol@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Marketing Dr. David Godes, Chair dgodes@rhsmith.umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Marine Estuarine Environmental Science (MEES) Dr. Kennedy Paynter paynter@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health Dr. Amy Sapkota ars@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Materials Science & Engineering Dr. Lourdes G. Salamanca-Riba riba@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
Mathematics Dr. James A. Schafer jas@umd.edu Nevenka Zdravkovska nevenka@umd.edu
Mechanical Engineering Dr. F. Patrick McCluskey mcclupa@umd.edu Sarah Over sover@umd.edu
Music Dr. Barbara Haggh-Huglo; Dr. Larry Witzleben haggh@umd.edu; jlwitz@umd.edu Steve Henry shenry@umd.edu
Nutrition and Food Science Dr. Margaret Udahogora mudahogo@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Persian Studies Dr. Sussan Moinfar smoinfar@umd.edu Zaida Diaz zdiaz@umd.edu
Philosophy Dr. Jerrold Levinson august@umd.edu Chuck Howell chuckh@umd.edu
Physics Jimmy Williams jwilliams@physics.umd.edu Nevenka Zdravkovska nevenka@umd.edu
Plant Science and Landscape Architecture Dr. Angus Murphy asmurphy@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Psychology Dr. Michael Dougherty, Chair mdougher@umd.edu Jordan Sly jsly@umd.edu
Public Health Science Dr. Kristin Cipriani kcips@umd.edu Nedelina Tchangalova nedelina@umd.edu
Public Policy Mr. Bill Powers wpowers@umd.edu Judy Markowitz judym@umd.edu
Real Estate Development Maria K. Day-Marshall mdaymars@umd.edu Cindy Frank cfrank@umd.edu
Second Language Acquisition Dr. Robert DeKeyser rdk@umd.edu Lindsay Inge-Carpenter linge@umd.edu
Slavic Dr. Liz Papazian papazian@umd.edu Yelena Luckert yluckert@umd.edu
Sociology Dr. Roberto Patricio Korzeniewicz, Chair korzen@umd.edu Patricia Cossard pcossard@umd.edu
Spanish & Portuguese Drs. Laura Demaría (for Latin America) José María Naharro-Calderón (for Iberia) ldemaria@umd.edu; jmn@umd.edu Kelsey Corlett-Rivera kcr1@umd.edu
Teaching and Learning Policy Leadership (Education) Dr. Francine H. Hultgren fh@umd.edu Tahirah Akbar-Williams takbarwi@umd.edu
Theatre, Dance and Performance (TDPS) Dr. Maura Keefe mkeefe1@umd.edu Drew Barker dbarker@umd.edu
Urban Studies & Planning Dr. Ariel Bierbaum bierbaum@umd.edu Cindy Frank cfrank@umd.edu
Veterinary Medicine Dr. Siba K Samal ssamal@umd.edu Stephanie Ritchie sritchie@umd.edu
Women Studies Dr. Ruth Zambrana and Mr. Robert Burgard rzambran@umd.edu; rburgard@umd.edu Judy Markowitz judym@umd.edu