Skip to main content
During the final stages of the migration to UMD Discover, some library services are temporarily unavailable.

Departmental Faculty Representatives

At the University of Maryland Libraries, our mission is to meet the academic, research, and information needs of the campus community in both traditional and innovative ways.

What are the liaisons' roles?

Departmental Faculty Representatives

The work of the departmental faculty representatives (or faculty library liaisons) is vital to the success of the University of Maryland Libraries in supporting University's goals for learning, discovery, engagement, and professional practice.

  • Each academic department/program at UMD assigns a faculty member to serve as faculty library liaison for that department.
  • The departmental faculty representative may be the primary contact person for his or her department with the library, communicating directly with their liaison librarian. 
  • departmental faculty representatives communicate to their liaison librarian changes in curriculum, academic directions, and new programmatic needs, as well as new, evolving, or diminishing research focuses.
  • They encourage their colleagues to communicate with their subject librarian regarding individual information, purchase, instruction, or research needs and distribute communications from the liaison librarian and the Libraries that they receive.
  • Further, they may coordinate the participation of their department in special projects, such as:
    • Journal cancellation projects
    • Major purchase decisions
    • Major withdrawal/transfer projects of bound journal volumes or books. 
  • They can also be providing feedback from the faculty regarding:
    • Library services
    • Policies
    • Procedures
    • Collections

Subject Librarians

In their outreach function, subject librarians (or liaison librarians) are a conduit between academic departments and the library to make sure that we are serving the unique research and information literacy needs of students and faculty in each discipline to the best of our ability.

  • Liaison librarians are assigned subjects based on their undergraduate and graduate degrees, academic interests, and the needs of the library.
  • Liaison librarians provide information literacy instruction, research assistance, and manage and build collections.
  • Through departmental partnerships, liaison librarians actively develop innovative services and materials that support the University's evolving academic programs and changing research interests.
  • Active communication between liaison librarians and their faculty library liaison include all matters related to the University Libraries, such as:
  • Acquisitions
  • Instructional support
  • Scholarly communications
  • Library digitization efforts
  • Developments in data research and visualization
  • Library events
  • Workshops
  • Library-wide services.

 

 

Who are the liaisons for my department?

Find Subject Librarians and Departmental Faculty Representatives by Academic Department:

DepartmentDepartmental Faculty Representative (faculty library liaison)Subject Librarian (library liaison)
Accounting & Information AssuranceDr. James McKinney, Associate Chair (jmckinne@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Aerospace EngineeringDr. Norman Wereley (wereley@umd.edu)Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
African American StudiesMarshal Washington (lahsram9@umd.edu)Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
AgricultureDr. Craig Beyrouty (beyrouty@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Agricultural & Resource EconomicsItalia Peretti (iperetti@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
American StudiesDr. Mary Sies (sies@umd.edu)Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
Animal & Avian SciencesDr. Lisa Taneyhill (ltaney@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
AnthropologyDr. Mark Leone (mleone@umd.edu)Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Arabic StudiesDr. Valerie Anishchenkova (vani@umd.edu)Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
ArchitectureDr. Brian Kelly (bkelly@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Art History & ArchaeologyDr. Jordana Saggese (saggese@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Asian & East European Languages and CulturesDr. Michele Mason (mmmason@umd.edu)Kana Jenkins (jenkins1@umd.edu)
AstronomyMs. Olivia Dent (odent@umd.edu)Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
Behavior, Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (BEES)Dr. Eric Haag (ehaag@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Behavioral & Community HealthDr. Amelia Arria (aarria@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
BioengineeringDr. John Fisher (jpfisher@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
BiologyDr. Scott Juntti (sjuntti@umd.edu)Matthew Cain (mwcain@umd.edu)
Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics (CBMG)Dr. Stephen Mount (smount@umd.edu)Matthew Cain (mwcain@umd.edu)
Chemical & Biomolecular EngineeringDr. Peter Kofinas (kofinas@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Chemistry & BiochemistryDr. Andrei Vedernikov (avederni@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Cinema & Media StudiesDr. Eric Zakim (zakim@umd.edu)Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Civil & Environmental EngineeringDr. Chuck Schwartz (schwartz@umd.eduSarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
ClassicsDr. Lillian Doherty (ldoherty@umd.edu)Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
CommunicationProf. Brooke Fisher Liu (bfliu@umd.edu)Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Computer ScienceDr. David Mount (mount@umd.edu)Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
Counseling & Higher EducationDr. William Ming Liu (willmliu@umd.edu)Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Criminology & Criminal JusticeDr. Rod K. Brunson (rbrunson@umd.edu)Celina McDonald (cnichol5@umd.edu)
Decision & Information TechnologiesDr. John Bono, Associate Department Chair (jbono@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
EconomicsDr. Andrew Sweeting, Chair (atsweet@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Electrical & Computer EngineeringDr. Julius Goldhar (jgoldhar@umd.edu)Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
EnglishDr. Martha Nell Smith (mnsmith@umd.edu)Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
EntomologyDr. Marcia Shofner (mshofner@umd.edu)Matthew Cain (mwcain@umd.edu)
Environmental Science & PolicyDr. Mark Carroll (mcarroll@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Environmental Science & TechnologyDr. Ray Weil (rweil@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Epidemiology & BiostatisticsDr. Tianzhou Charles Ma (tma0929@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Family ScienceDr. Manouchehr Mokhtari (mokhtari@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
FinanceDr. Geoffrey Tate, Chair (gtate@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Fire Protection EngineeringDr. Arnaud Trouvé (atrouve@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
FrenchDr. Valerie Orlando (vorlando@umd.edu)Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Geographical Sciences & TechnologyDr. Chris Justice, Chair (cjustice@umd.edu)Milan Budhathoki (mb17@umd.edu)
GeologyDr. Mong-Han Huang (mhhuang@umd.edu)Matthew Cain (mwcain@umd.edu)
Germanic StudiesDr. Julie Koser (jkoser@umd.edu)Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
The Global Health InitiativeDr. Colleen M. Farmer (cfarmer@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Government & PoliticsDr. Todd Allee (tallee@umd.edu)Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Health Services AdministrationDr. Michel Boudreaux (mhb@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Hearing & SpeechDr. Nan Bernstein Ratner (nratner@umd.edu)Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Historic PreservationProf. Dennis Pogue (dpogue@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
HistoryDr. Robyn Muncy (rmuncy@umd.edu)Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
Human Development & Quantitative MethodologyDr. Laura M. Stapleton (lstaplet@umd.edu)Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Information StudiesDr. Paul Jaeger (pjaeger@umd.edu)Rachel Gammons (rgammons@umd.edu)
Institute of Applied AgricultureDr. Chelsea Mays-Williams (cmayswil@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
ItalianDr. Valerie Orlando (vorlando@umd.edu)Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Jewish StudiesDr. Berny Cooperman (cooperma@umd.edu)Yelena Luckert (yluckert@umd.edu)
JournalismDr. Ronald A. Yaros (ryaros@umd.edu)Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
KinesiologyDr. Joanne C. Klossner (jklossne@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Landscape ArchitectureDr. Christopher Ellis (cdellis@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Latin American and Caribbean Studies CenterDr. Isabel Alcañiz, Director and Affiliate Faculty (ialcaniz@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu)
Linguistics Dr. Margaret J. Antonisse (mja@umd.edu)Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
LGBTQ StudiesDr. Ruth Zambrana (rzambran@umd.edu) & Prof. Robert Burgard (rburgard@umd.edu)Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Logistics, Business, & Public PolicyDr. Cristian Dezső, Area Chair (cdezso@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Management & OrganizationDr. Protiti Dastidar, Associate Chair (pdastida@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
MarketingDr. Mary Beth Furst, Associate Area Chair (mbfurst@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Marine Estuarine Environmental Science (MEES)Dr. Kennedy Paynter (paynter@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental HealthDr. Amy Sapkota (ars@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Materials Science & EngineeringDr. Lourdes G. Salamanca-Riba (riba@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
MathematicsDr. James A. Schafer (jas@umd.edu)Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Mechanical EngineeringDr. F. Patrick McCluskey (mcclupa@umd.edu)Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
MusicDr. Barbara Haggh-Huglo (haggh@umd.edu) & Dr. J. Lawrence Witzleben (jlwitz@umd.edu)Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu)
Nutrition & Food ScienceDr. Margaret Udahogora (mudahogo@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Persian StudiesDr. Matthew Thomas Miller (mtmiller@umd.edu)Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
PhilosophyDr. Jerrold Levinson (august@umd.edu)Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
PhysicsMr. Jimmy Williams (jrwill@umd.edu)Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Plant SciencesDr. Christopher Ellis (cdellis@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
PsychologyDr. Michael Dougherty (mdougher@umd.edu)Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
Public Health ScienceDr. Kristin Cipriani (kcips@umd.edu)Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Public Policy Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Real Estate DevelopmentMs. Maria K. Day-Marshall, Esq. (mdaymars@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Second Language AcquisitionDr. Robert De Keyser (rdk@umd.edu)Lindsay Inge-Carpenter (linge@umd.edu)
Slavic LanguagesDr. Liz Papazian (papazian@umd.edu)Yelena Luckert (yluckert@umd.edu)
SociologyDr. Roberto Patricio Korzeniewics (korzen@umd.edu)Patti Cossard (pcossard@umd.edu)
Spanish & Portuguese (Latin America)Dr. Laura Demaría (ldemaria@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu)
Spanish & Portuguese (Iberia)Dr. José María Naharro-Calderón (jmn@umd.edu)Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu)
Studio ArtProf. Brandon Morse, Chair (bmorse1@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Teaching & Learning Policy LeadershipDr. Francine H. Hultgren (fh@umd.edu)Tahirah Akbar-Willams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Theatre, Dance, & PerformanceDr. Maura Keefe (mkeefe1@umd.edu)Drew Barker (dbarker@umd.edu)
Urban Studies & PlanningDr. Ariel Bierbaum (bierbaum@umd.edu)Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
University of Maryland ExtensionDr. Jeff Howard (jwhoward@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Veterinary MedicineDr. Seth Dickey (sdickey@umd.edu)Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Women, Gender, and Sexuality StudiesDr. Neda Atanasoski (natanaso@umd.edu) & Gwen Warman (gwarman@umd.edu)Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)

 

   

 

Back to Top