Skip to main content

Departmental Faculty Representatives

At the University of Maryland Libraries, our mission is to meet the academic, research, and information needs of the campus community in both traditional and innovative ways.

What are the liaisons' roles?

Departmental Faculty Representatives

The work of the departmental faculty representatives (or faculty library liaisons) is vital to the success of the University of Maryland Libraries in supporting University's goals for learning, discovery, engagement, and professional practice.

  • Each academic department/program at UMD assigns a faculty member to serve as faculty library liaison for that department.
  • The departmental faculty representative may be the primary contact person for his or her department with the library, communicating directly with their liaison librarian. 
  • departmental faculty representatives communicate to their liaison librarian changes in curriculum, academic directions, and new programmatic needs, as well as new, evolving, or diminishing research focuses.
  • They encourage their colleagues to communicate with their subject librarian regarding individual information, purchase, instruction, or research needs and distribute communications from the liaison librarian and the Libraries that they receive.
  • Further, they may coordinate the participation of their department in special projects, such as:
    • Journal cancellation projects
    • Major purchase decisions
    • Major withdrawal/transfer projects of bound journal volumes or books. 
  • They can also be providing feedback from the faculty regarding:
    • Library services
    • Policies
    • Procedures
    • Collections

Subject Librarians

In their outreach function, subject librarians (or liaison librarians) are a conduit between academic departments and the library to make sure that we are serving the unique research and information literacy needs of students and faculty in each discipline to the best of our ability.

  • Liaison librarians are assigned subjects based on their undergraduate and graduate degrees, academic interests, and the needs of the library.
  • Liaison librarians provide information literacy instruction, research assistance, and manage and build collections.
  • Through departmental partnerships, liaison librarians actively develop innovative services and materials that support the University's evolving academic programs and changing research interests.
  • Active communication between liaison librarians and their faculty library liaison include all matters related to the University Libraries, such as:
  • Acquisitions
  • Instructional support
  • Scholarly communications
  • Library digitization efforts
  • Developments in data research and visualization
  • Library events
  • Workshops
  • Library-wide services.

 

Who are the liaisons for my department?

Find Subject Librarians and Departmental Faculty Representatives by Academic Department:

Department Departmental Faculty Representative (faculty library liaison) Subject Librarian (library liaison)
Accounting & Information Assurance

Dr. Martin Loeb, Chair (mploeb@umd.edu)

Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)

Aerospace Engineering Dr. Norman Wereley (wereley@umd.edu) Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
African American Studies Marshal Washington (lahsram9@umd.edu) Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Agriculture Dr. Craig Beyrouty (beyrouty@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Agricultural & Resource Economics Dr. Katherine Faulkner (kstjohn@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
American Studies Dr. Mary Sies (sies@umd.edu) Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
Animal & Avian Sciences Dr. Lisa Taneyhill (ltaney@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Anthropology Dr. Mark Leone (mleone@umd.edu) Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Arabic Studies Dr. Valerie Anishchenkova (vani@umd.edu) Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
Architecture Dr. Brian Kelly (bkelly@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Art History & Archaeology Dr. Jordana Saggese (saggese@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Asian & East European Languages and Cultures Dr. Michele Mason (mmmason@umd.edu) Kana Jenkins (jenkins1@umd.edu)
Astronomy Ms. Olivia Dent (odent@umd.edu) Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences   Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Behavior, Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (BEES) Dr. Eric Haag (ehaag@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Behavioral & Community Health Dr. Barbara Anne Curbow, Chair (bcurbow@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Bioengineering Dr. John Fisher (jpfisher@umd.edu) Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Biology Dr. Scott Juntti (sjuntti@umd.edu) Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics (CBMG) Dr. Stephen Mount (smount@umd.edu) Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Dr. Peter Kofinas (kofinas@umd.edu) Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Chemistry & Biochemistry Dr. Andrei Vedernikov (avederni@umd.edu) Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Cinema & Media Studies Dr. Eric Zakim (zakim@umd.edu) Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Civil & Environmental Engineering Dr. Chuck Schwartz (schwartz@umd.edu Alison Harding (hardinga@umd.edu)
Classics Dr. Lillian Doherty (ldoherty@umd.edu) Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
Communication Prof. Brooke Fisher Liu (bfliu@umd.edu) Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Computer Science Dr. David Mount (mount@umd.edu) Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
Counseling & Higher Education Dr. William Ming Liu (willmliu@umd.edu) Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Criminology & Criminal Justice Dr. Gary LaFree (glafree@umd.edu) Celina McDonald (cnichol5@umd.edu)
Decision & Information Technologies Dr. Michael Fu, Chair (mfu@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Economics Dr. Judith K. Hellerstein (hellerst@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Electrical & Computer Engineering Dr. Julius Goldhar (jgoldhar@umd.edu) Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
English Dr. Martha Nell Smith (mnsmith@umd.edu) Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
Entomology Dr. Marcia Shofner (mshofner@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Environmental Science & Policy Dr. Mark Carroll (mcarroll@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Environmental Science & Technology Dr. Ray Weil (rweil@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Epidemiology & Biostatistics Dr. Tianzhou Charles Ma (tma0929@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Family Science Dr. Manouchehr Mokhtari (mokhtari@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Finance Dr. Russell Wermers (wermers@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Fire Protection Engineering Dr. Arnaud Trouvé (atrouve@umd.edu) Alison Harding (hardinga@umd.edu)
French Dr. Valerie Orlando (vorlando@umd.edu) Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Geographical Sciences & Technology Dr. Chris Justice, Chair (cjustice@umd.edu) Milan Budhathoki (mb17@umd.edu)
Geology Dr. Mong-Han Huang (mhhuang@umd.edu) Milan Budhathoki (mb17@umd.edu)
Germanic Studies Dr. Julie Koser (jkoser@umd.edu) Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
The Global Health Initiative Dr. Colleen M. Farmer (cfarmer@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Government & Politics Dr. Todd Allee (tallee@umd.edu) Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Health Services Administration Dr. Michel Boudreaux (mhb@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Hearing & Speech Dr. Nan Bernstein Ratner (nratner@umd.edu) Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Historic Preservation Prof. Dennis Pogue (dpogue@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
History Dr. Robyn Muncy (rmuncy@umd.edu) Eric Lindquist (ericl@umd.edu)
Human Development & Quantitative Methodology Dr. Laura M. Stapleton (lstaplet@umd.edu) Tahirah Akbar-Williams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Information Studies Dr. Paul Jaeger (pjaeger@umd.edu) Rachel Gammons (rgammons@umd.edu)
Institute of Applied Agriculture Dr. Chelsea Mays-Williams (cmayswil@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Italian Dr. Valerie Orlando (vorlando@umd.edu) Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Jewish Studies Dr. Berny Cooperman (cooperma@umd.edu) Yelena Luckert (yluckert@umd.edu)
Journalism Dr. Ronald A. Yaros (ryaros@umd.edu) Chuck Howell (chuckh@umd.edu)
Kinesiology Dr. Joanne C. Klossner (jklossne@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Landscape Architecture Dr. Christopher Ellis (cdellis@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Linguistics  Dr. Margaret J. Antonisse (mja@umd.edu) Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
LGBTQ Studies Dr. Ruth Zambrana (rzambran@umd.edu) & Prof. Robert Burgard (rburgard@umd.edu) Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Logistics, Business, & Public Policy Dr. Martin Dresner, Chair (mdresner@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Management & Organization Dr. Kay Bartol, Chair (kbartol@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Marketing Dr. David Godes, Chair (dgodes@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu) / Lily Griner (griner@umd.edu)
Marine Estuarine Environmental Science (MEES) Dr. Kennedy Paynter (paynter@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health Dr. Amy Sapkota (ars@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Materials Science & Engineering Dr. Lourdes G. Salamanca-Riba (riba@umd.edu) Leah DiCiesare (leahd@umd.edu)
Mathematics Dr. James A. Schafer (jas@umd.edu) Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Mechanical Engineering Dr. F. Patrick McCluskey (mcclupa@umd.edu) Sarah Weiss (srweiss@umd.edu)
Music Dr. Barbara Haggh-Huglo (haggh@umd.edu) & Dr. J. Lawrence Witzleben (jlwitz@umd.edu) Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu)
Nutrition & Food Science Dr. Margaret Udahogora (mudahogo@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Persian Studies Dr. Matthew Thomas Miller (mtmiller@umd.edu) Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
Philosophy Dr. Jerrold Levinson (august@umd.edu) Jordan Sly (jsly@umd.edu)
Physics Mr. Jimmy Williams (jrwill@umd.edu) Nevenka Zdravkovska (nevenka@umd.edu)
Plant Sciences Dr. John Erwin (jerwin@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Psychology Dr. Michael Dougherty (mdougher@umd.edu) Emily Deinert (edeinert@umd.edu)
Public Health Science Dr. Kristin Cipriani (kcips@umd.edu) Nedelina Tchangalova (nedelina@umd.edu)
Public Policy   Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)
Real Estate Development Ms. Maria K. Day-Marshall, Esq. (mdaymars@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Second Language Acquisition Dr. Robert De Keyser (rdk@umd.edu) Lindsay Inge-Carpenter (linge@umd.edu)
Slavic Languages Dr. Liz Papazian (papazian@umd.edu) Yelena Luckert (yluckert@umd.edu)
Sociology Dr. Roberto Patricio Korzeniewics (korzen@umd.edu) Patti Cossard (pcossard@umd.edu)
Spanish & Portuguese (Latin America) Dr. Laura Demaría (ldemaria@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu)
Spanish & Portuguese (Iberia) Dr. José María Naharro-Calderón (jmn@umd.edu) Zaida Diaz (zdiaz@umd.edu)
Studio Art Prof. Brandon Morse, Chair (bmorse1@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
Teaching & Learning Policy Leadership Dr. Francine H. Hultgren (fh@umd.edu) Tahirah Akbar-Willams (takbarwi@umd.edu)
Theatre, Dance, & Performance Dr. Maura Keefe (mkeefe1@umd.edu) Drew Barker (dbarker@umd.edu)
Urban Studies & Planning Dr. Ariel Bierbaum (bierbaum@umd.edu) Cindy Frank (cfrank@umd.edu)
University of Maryland Extension Dr. Jeff Howard (jwhoward@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Veterinary Medicine Dr. Seth Dickey (sdickey@umd.edu) Isabella Baxter (ibaxter@umd.edu)
Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Dr. Neda Atanasoski (natanaso@umd.edu) &  Gwen Warman (gwarman@umd.edu)

Judy Markowitz (judym@umd.edu)

 

   

 

Back to Top