Navigation Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: November 2007

Citing Sources Using the Chicago/Turabian Style: Notes System

Scope: This guide is designed to help researchers learn how to cite sources using the Chicago Style notes system. This system is often used in history, the humanitites, and the arts. This guide is not a comprehensive list of all the types of materials that can be cited; for more information, refer to:

Gibaldi, Joseph. The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.

McKeldin Library Reference Desk Z253 .U69 2003

OR
Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th ed.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.

Engineering & Physical Sciences Library Reference LB2369.T8 2007
Performing Arts Library Reference LB2369.T8 2007

Turabian's manual translates Chicago style into a more concise form for students. Turabian's 7th edition is based on the 15th edition of Chicago Manual of Style. So, at least for electronic sources, it is recommended that you use the 15th ed. of Chicago. All the citations below are based on the Chicago 15th edition.

Chicago's Web site also contains a Q & A section.

Overview of Chicago/Turabian Documentation Systems

Chicago/Turabian allows for 2 different systems of documentation: a notes system which is suggested for use in the humanities, art, and history, and an in-text parenthetical system called the author-date system, suggested for use in the physical, natural, and social sciences.

What differentiates the notes system from the in-text parenthetical system (also known as the author-date system) is the use of footnotes (notes at the bottom of the page) or endnotes (notes at the end of the paper on a separate sheet) to document sources. This involves the use of a superscript number in the text of your paper to identify an idea or quote which you borrowed from someone else.

This guide outlines the notes system. For more information on using the author-date system, which Chicago recommends for papers in the physical, natural, and social sciences, see Citing Sources Using the Chicago Style Manual: In-Text Parenthetical System (Author-Date).

return to top

Two Types of Notes Systems

In the notes system, the format and content of the notes depends upon whether or not you include a full bibliography (one that lists all the sources you cite) with your paper. The Chicago/Turabian style allows the writer to choose whether or not to include a full bibliography and gives rules in either case. The options are:

  • Notes and Full Bibliography: All notes can be in the shortened form, even the first mention of a source, since a full bibliography will give the full source information for every note you have in your paper. This is the recommended practice, which Chicago describes on page 594 as, "user-friendly and economical-duplication of information is minimized." To illustrate how this would look, imagine that you're writing a paper on the "ideal" politician and are quoting a particular author's idea about desirable qualities in a politician. An exerpt from a sentence in the text of a paper written using the notes system with a full bibliography would look like this:
    While some assert that the essential qualities a politician must posess are, "passion, a feeling of responsibility, and a sense of proportion" ², others think that...

    The note would look like this:

    2. Weber, "Politics as a Vocation", 33

    and the entry in the bibliography would look like this:

    Weber, Max. "Politics as a Vocation." In Essays in Sociology, edited by H.H. Garth and C. Wright Mills, 26-45. New York: Macmillian, 1946.
    Click here for an example of a research paper which uses this system.

  • Notes only, No Bibliography, or only a Selected Bibliography: The first mention of a source must be a full note-i.e., it must include all source citation information since the reader can't refer to the bibliography for that information. The shortened form can then be utilized for subsequent notes to the same source. Here is an example:
    2. Max Weber, "Politics as a Vocation," in Essays in Sociology, ed. Howard Garth and Cynthia Mills (New York: Macmillian, 1946), 26-45.

    Any subsequent note (not consecutive) referring to that same source would look like this:

    3. Weber, "Politics as a Vocation," 32.
    Click here for an example of a research paper which uses this system.
.

return to top

How to Construct a Short Note
Short notes are used:
  • In papers which include a full bibliography: to point the reader to the full entry in the bibliography
  • In papers which don't include a full bibliography, or which include only a selected bibliography: to avoid duplication of information from a prior "full note" which lists all the citation information for a source
Basic form: Author's last name and the title of the source plus page references 2. Harvey, Notes on Ireland, 45.
Long titles: Remove "a" and "the"; shorten title if it is longer than four words 12. Verne, Journey to the Center, 56. (for A Journey to the Center of the Earth )
Two to three authors: Use all last names 4. Sweet and Krolowsi, Last Train to Rehoboth, 34-35.
More than three authors: Use first followed by "et al." 1. Smith et al., "Analysis of Panel Study", 45.
Two notes from the same source in a row: Use "Ibid." 1. Harvey, Notes on Ireland, 45.
2. Ibid., 46. (same source, different page number)
3. Verne, Journey to the Center, 56.
4. Ibid. (same source, same page number)

return to top

Documenting Sources Using the Notes System

BOOKCITATION
1 Author Full Note:
 
6. John W. Bagby, Cyberlaw Handbook for E-Commerce (New York: Harcourt Brace, 2003), 37.
Bibliography:
 
Bagby, John W. Cyberlaw Handbook for E-Commerce. New York: Harcourt Brace, 2003.
3 Editors Full Note:
 
13. David L. Baumer, Julius Poindexter, and Janice Brown, eds., Cyberlaw and E-Commerce (Boston: McGraw Hill, 2002), 46-47.
Bibliography:
 
Baumer, David L., Julius Poindexter, and Janice Brown, eds. Cyberlaw and E-Commerce. Boston: McGraw Hill, 2002.
4-10 Authors/2nd edition Full Note:
 
21. John Smith and others, The History of the World Wide Web, 2nd ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004), 267.
Bibliography:
 
Smith, John, Janice Brown, Chris W. Enkunde, and Lois Denmark. The History of the World Wide Web. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004.
Chapter in an edited multiauthor book: Full Note:
 
14. Chris Heller and Andrea Gottlieb, "Gender Roles in Ethiopian Culture," in Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective, ed. Sherry Collier, 45-56 (Louisville, KY: Pilgrim Press, 2001).
Bibliography:
 
Heller, Chris, and Andrea Gottlieb. "Gender Roles in Ethiopian Culture." In Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective, edited by Sherry Collier, 45-56. Louisville, KY: Pilgrim Press, 2001.

return to top

DICTIONARY or ENCYCLOPEDIA ENTRYCITATION
In Print Note: (Well known reference works are usually cited only in notes with the edition specified but not the publication facts)
 
1.Oxford English Dictionary, 3rd ed., s.v. "Blog."
Online-from a Web site Note: (Well known reference works are usually cited only in notes with the edition specified but not the publication facts)
 
1. Dictionary.com, s.v. "Electronic Commerce," http://dictionary.reference.com (accessed March 3, 2004).

return to top

DISSERTATION CITATION
Unpublished Full Note:
 
1. Kerry J. Fitzpatrick, "Effects of Mowing on the Selection of Raptor Foraging Habitat" (PhD diss., University of Maryland, 2003), 201-204.
Bibliography:
 
Fitzpatrick, Kerry J. "Effects of Mowing on the Selection of Raptor Foraging Habitat." PhD diss., University of Maryland, 2003.

return to top

E-MAILCITATION
E-Mail: More common to cite in a note or in the text In the text: "In an e-mail message received by the author on December, 12, 2203, Sheila McCarthy stated that..."

Note:
3. Sheila McCarthy, e-mail message to the author, December 12, 2003.

return to top

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENT CITATION
In Print: Reports, bulletins, circulars, and misc. materials issued by executive departments, bureaus, and agencies Full Note:
 
12. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Irrigation: A National Research Plan, (Washington, DC: GPO, 2001), 34.
Bibliography:
 
U.S. Department of Agriculture. Irrigation: A National Research Plan. Washington, DC: GPO, 2001.
Online-from a Web site with a known author Reports, bulletins, circulars, and misc. materials issued by executive departments, bureaus, and agencies Full Note:
2. U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics, Analysis of Crime Patterns 1990-2000 by Shirley Marimer (Washington, DC: GPO, 2002), http://www.usdoj.gov/346576/cr2002.pdf (accessed April 14, 2005).
Bibliography:
 
U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Analysis of Crime Patterns 1990-2000 by Shirley Marimer. Washington, DC: GPO, 2002. http://www.usdoj.gov/346576/cr2002.pdf (accessed April 14, 2005).

return to top

INTERVIEWCITATION
Unpublished Interview: Unpublished are usually cited in notes or in the text (see e-mail for example of citing in the text) Note:
2. Gary Williams (CEO, Sprint), in discussion with the author, February 2004.

return to top

JOURNAL (PEER REVIEWED) ARTICLECITATION
In Print-with continuous pagination throughout annual volume: Can omit issue number but Chicago prefers including more info. if it's available rather than less Full Note:
 
11. Earl W. T. James, "Obesity in American School Children: An Epidemic," Journal of Nursing 389, no. 12 (2000): 399-405.
Bibliography:
 
James, Earl W.T., and Lucy Danker. "Obesity in American School Children: An Epidemic." Journal of Nursing 389, no. 12 (2000): 399-405.
In Print-journal that uses only issue numbers, not volumes: Place a comma after the journal title Full Note:
 
11. Joanie Harker, "The Rise of the Urban Middle Class," Journal of Urban Renewal , no. 45 (1985): 35-56.
Bibliography:
 
Harker, Joanie. "The Rise of the Urban Middle Class." Journal of Urban Renewal , no. 45 (1985): 35-56.
Online, found using the citation below found through the library database Academic Search Premier: Include access date for time sensitive data or if discipline requires it; it is given here to illustrate the required format Full Note:
 
13. Caroline J. Stem and others, "How 'Eco' is Ecotourism? A Comparative Case Study of Ecotourism in Costa Rica," Journal of Sustainable Tourism 11, no. 4 (2003), http://www.epnet.com/ (accessed March 6, 2005).
Include page number as well if specific page is referred to
Bibliography:
 
Stem, Caroline J., James P. Lassoie, David R. Lee, and David J. Dessler. "How 'Eco' is Ecotourism? A Comparative Case Study of Ecotourism in Costa Rica." Journal of Sustainable Tourism 11, no. 4 (2003): 322-348. http://www.epnet.com/ (accessed March 6, 2005).
image showing article record

return to top

LEGAL SOURCECITATION
Law/Statute (Usually cited in notes) Note:
 
17. Children's Internet Protection Act, Public Law 106-554, U.S. Statutes at Large 118 (2001): 64.
Case decided by Supreme Court (Usually cited in notes) Note:
 
21. United States v. Patane , 525 U.S. 366 (2000).

return to top

LETTER TO THE EDITORCITATION
In Print Note: More common to cite newspapers in notes than in bibliographies
 
6. Melissa Jones, letter to the editor, Baltimore Sun, May 20, 2003.
Online-from a news Web site Note:
 
6. Melissa Jones, letter to the editor, Baltimore Sun, May 20, 2003, http://www.baltimoresun.com/2003/05/20/leditor.html/.

return to top

MAGAZINE ARTICLECITATION
In Print-monthly:
Usually cited by date only, even if volume and issue are available
Full Note:
 
6. Michael Elliott, "Gypsy Foklore Revisited," Smithsonian, March 2004, 24.
Bibliography:
 
Elliott, Michael. "Gypsy Foklore Revisited." Smithsonian, March 2004, 23-29.
Online-Using the citation below found through the library database Academic Search Premier-issued weekly:
Usually cited by date only, even if volume and issue are available; Include access date for time sensitive data or if discipline requires it; it is given here to illustrate the required format
Full Note:
 
6. Monica Roman, "Son of NAFTA?" Business Week, December 12, 2003, http://www.epnet.com/ (accessed March 12, 2005).
Bibliography:
 
Roman, Monica. "Son of Nafta?" Business Week, December 12, 2003. http://www.epnet.com/ (accessed March 12, 2005).
image showing article record

return to top

NEWSPAPER ARTICLECITATION
In Print: More common to cite newspapers in notes than in bibliographies; omit page numbers since they are not consistent between editions Note:
 
2. Edward Epstein, "It's That Time Again: Lawmakers Revisit Daylight Saving," San Francisco Chronicle, April 9, 2005, final edition.
Online-using the citation below found though the library database Lexis Nexis Academic: Include access date for time sensitive data or if discipline requires it; it is given here to illustrate the required format Note:
 
2. Daniel Howden, "Polio at Mecca Sparks Fear for Muslim Thousands," The Independent (London), February 12, 2005, first edition, http://www.lexisnexis.com/ (accessed March 25, 2005).
image of article record

return to top

ONLINE POSTINGCITATION
Electronic Mailing List Posting: Usually cited in notes or in text (see e-mail for citing in text); if it is archived online, include an access date and url Note:
 
12. John Hossberg, e-mail to H-Amsty mailing list, March 23, 1998, http://www.h-net.org/~amsty/.

return to top

VIDEOCASSETTE/DVDCITATION
Videocassette:
Citation format is exactly the same as books with the addition of the type of medium; scenes are treated like chapters
Full Note:
 
12. Power! 1967-1968, VHS, directed by Louis Massiah and Terry Kay Rockefeller (Boston, MA: Public Broadcasting System Video, 1999).
Bibliography:
 
Power! 1967-1968. VHS. Directed by Louis Massiah and Terry Kay Rockefeller. Boston, MA: Public Broadcasting System Video, 1999.
DVD:
Citation format exactly the same as books with the addition of the type of medium; scenes are treated like chapters
Full Note:
 
2. John Travolta, "Conversation with Annette," Saturday Night Fever, special ed., DVD, directed by William Golding (1977; Culver City, CA: Columbia Tristar Home Entertainment, 1998).
Bibliography:
 
Travolta, John. "Conversation with Annette." Saturday Night Fever, special ed. DVD. Directed by William Golding. 1977. Culver City, CA: Columbia Tristar Home Entertainment, 1998.

return to top

WEB SITECITATION
Article from a Web site
Include access date for time sensitive data or if discipline requires it; it is given here to illustrate the required format
Full Note:
 
12. Danny Sullivan, "Boolean Searching," Search Engine Watch, http://www.searchenginewatch.com/facts/article/2155991.html (accessed April 18, 2005).
Bibliography:
 
Sullivan, Danny. "Boolean Searching." Search Engine Watch. http://www.searchenginewatch.com/facts/article/2155991.html (accessed April 18, 2005).
Article from Web site-no author: If owner is known, use them Full Note:
 
12. Ministry of Buddhism, "Fundamental Buddhism Explained." Buddhism for Beginners, http://www.buddhismforbeginners.com/fundbudd.html (accessed April 18, 2005).
Bibliography:
 
Ministry of Buddhism. "Fundamental Buddhism Explained." Buddhism for Beginners. http://www.buddhismforbeginners.com/fundbudd.html (accessed April 18, 2005).
Article from a news Web site Full Note:
 
12. Jeanna Sahadi, "Bankruptcy Bill Passes in House," Cnn.com, April 14, 2005, http://www.cnn.com/dailynw/24465 (accessed April 18, 2005).
Bibliography:
 
Sahadi, Jeanna. "Bankruptcy Bill Passes in House." Cnn.com. April 14, 2005. http://www.cnn.com/dailynw/24465 (accessed April 18, 2005).

return to top

Sample Papers

Sample Research Paper Using Chicago's Notes System: Footnotes with Full Bibliography*
image showing formatted paper
*Not necessarily relevant subject content for Chicago/Turabian Notes style. Sample paper is only presented to illustrate the formatting conventions of the style.

return to top

Sample Research Paper Using Chicago's Notes System: Footnotes, No Bibliography*
image showing formatted paper
*Not necessarily relevant subject content for Chicago/Turabian Notes style. Sample paper is only presented to illustrate the formatting conventions of the style.

return to top

 
 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: November 14, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search